Review: Asclera for Varicose & Spider Veins

January 26, 2012 at 12:06 pm | Posted in Body Care | 4 Comments
Tags: , , , , , ,

Sitting in shorts last summer, I looked down and noticed “old lady legs!” What!? When did I get spider and varicose veins? And what can I do to make them go away? I researched solutions and learned about the latest medical treatment called Asclera, a form of sclerotherapy. Asclera’s active ingredient is much less painful than previous products, which caused intense stinging. Veins react to the injected solution and close over a series of weeks and treatments. BTW, laser treatments are also a popular method to close veins, however tan skin pigments can absorb too much laser light and cause scarring

Before Treatment at the Dr. Office; sorry it's blurry, I must have been shaking from nerves 🙂

The Treatment

I locate a dermatologist that offers Asclera, Dr. Schell at Ageless in Seattle ($250 per treatment). She specializes in anti-aging for the face and body and is quite wonderful and lovely! Asclera is injected with a small needle into my vein “trunks.” Like a tree, the solution travels into the branches connected to that vein. I lose count on the number of injections but am guessing 30 pokes. Some veins/leg areas are more painful than others. I grimace, clench my teeth and hold a squeeze ball tight. Immediately, veins swell and turn red, like welts. The severity goes away in a couple of hours, leaving redness and light bruising.

My legs are sore the rest of the day. Dr Schell directs me not to exercise and wear compression tights for two days (definitely not comfortable!).

Immediately After Asclera Injections

Compression Tights

The Next Week

Asclera Post Treatment Day 1 (l), Day 9 (r)

After a couple of days, the soreness decreases to minimal, noticed only if an injection area is touched. For the next couple of weeks, there is visible “trauma” to the skin where the injections were made.

One Month Later

One Month Post Treatment

The injection areas have healed and I am sooo happy with the results, thus far! The veins are noticeably diminished — still there but much less so. I schedule the second treatment. It will take up to 3 treatments for the veins to fully close.

Stay tuned for the final results!

4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I want to do this…eventually! Four pregnancies have not been kind to me. 🙂 For that price, how much does it cover? One specific area or just whatever needs to be done? Thanks!

    • The price is for one “vial” of the Asclera solution. That was enough to cover all the veins on my front and back thighs, plus a few on my calves. I just had my second treatment done, so I’m anxiously awaiting the results 🙂

  2. Can you post some more results? How did the next set of treatments turn out? I am thinking about having it done……….love your blog! I just stumbled on it today 🙂

    • Hi Marissa, I totally recommend Asclera! I’ve done four treatments. My legs look much better — spider veins are completely gone and varicose veins are 75% gone. This summer was the first one in a long time that I wore shorts with confidence! I’m going in this week for what I hope is my last treatment (though future treatments may be needed if other veins surface). Good luck! Let me know how it goes. Rayanne


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

