All About Nails: Shellac, Duri, and Nail Love

November 9, 2011 at 10:51 pm | Posted in Nail Polish | 1 Comment
Tags: , , , , ,

One of my New Year’s 2011 beauty resolutions is to get gorgeous nails. With just 1.5 months left in the year, I still have a long ways to go! However, among the many products I’ve tried this year I am most impressed with It Cosmetics Nail Love and Duri Rejuvacote. I’ve also considered taking the plunge to gel nails.

Shellac Manicure

I’ve shied away from gel manicures, like Shellac, because of mixed reviews about post nail damage. Curious about the process, I tagged along with my friend Joy for her first Shellac service. The mega shine and ultra long-wear were remarkable, but Joy did experience some post-removal nail issues (she estimates her nail health decreased by about 10%). Joy removed the polish at-home, so perhaps it’s less damaging if you get it dissolved at the salon. Have you tried it? What do you think? Curious how it works?

Step 1: Pick a color, any color! Gel nail polish is housed in opaque bottles to protect it from light. Since you can’t visibly see the color, swatches are the guide.

Step 1: Pick a color!

Step 2: Apply base and color polish. Between each coat, polish is “cured” under the light. Thumbs are treated separately since they can’t lay flat with your other fingers (it’s true, I tried it!).

Step 2: Apply base and color with light between each coat of polish

Step 3:  Voila! Incredibly glossy, pretty nails with zero chipping and minimal wear after even two weeks.

Freshly applied Shellac (l), After 2 weeks (r)

Duri Rejuvacote Nail Growth System

Duri Rejuvacote

I came across Duri Rejuvacote while searching for a miracle to rescue my peeling nails. On my favorite review site, Makeup Alley, Rejuvacote received a 4.7 out of 5.0 rating, and 88% said they would purchase it again. These are impressive results! I like Rejuvacote alot and think it’s better than other nail treatments I’ve used. The polish isn’t long-lasting, so frequent coats are required. As a bonus, the pinkish tint gives the look of a healthy nail — instantly. My nails definitely look better. But, in true beauty junkie fashion, I’m holding out hope there’s a product that will make them look downright amazing!

It Cosmetics Nail Love

It Nail Love Holiday 2011 Gift Set

I often base product results on if I’d buy it again. In the case of It Cosmetics Nail Love, I purchased it three more times! Nail Love has improved my cuticles, which peel just like the nail. It’s a thick gel, rich with oils and antioxidants (not at all greasy). Within a few weeks, my cuticles were smoother. Until I ran out and my cuticles quickly returned to ragged! I found a holiday set of 3 Nail Love’s at Beauty 360 for $29 (a savings of about 22% off the individual retail price; also available online). I now keep a Nail Love in my handbag, work office and home office.

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. […] Everyday, without fail, I use the Bye Bye Under Eye concealer, Bye Bye Pores finishing powder and Nail Love cuticle […]


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

