Must-Try Foundation and New Drugstore Mascara

October 7, 2011 at 7:20 am | Posted in Makeup | Leave a comment
Tags: , , , ,

Sue Devitt Triple Seaweed Gel Foundation

Sue Devitt Triple Seaweed Foundation

I’m loving Sue Devitt Triple Seaweed Foundation! I purchased it a few months ago, but wanted to make sure I absolutely loved it before telling you about it (i.e., no breakouts, great looking skin).

More than any other makeup product, the right foundation is a must. With my sensitivity to silicones, I’m extremely limited since it’s a top ingredient in most foundations. I was not that familiar with the Sue Devitt line, but spotted it at Sephora in Las Vegas and was excited by the ingredients, or rather lack thereof.

Foundation Ingredients

Sue Devitt Triple Seaweed Foundation ($38) is oil-free, 70% water and contains three types of mineral and nutrient rich seaweed. Coverage is light, similar to a heavy tinted moisturizer. You will need a concealer to cover imperfections (apply concealear over the foundation). What I love about it is my skin looks perfected and glowy, but natural. And no breakouts! The makeup artist matched me to Granite Downs, which is a shade lighter than I would have picked, but the formulation is forgiving and the next shade was a tad dark.

I think you should at least try a sample from select Sephora, Ulta or Beauty 360 stores (call ahead to make sure the location carries Sue Devitt).

BTW, check-out this awesome makeup studio in Sephora on the Las Vegas strip

Drugstore Mascara

L'Oreal Voluminous Million Lashes, Wet n Wild Mega Length Mascara

On a work trip last week (this time to San Diego) I discovered my coveted Mally Volumizing Mascara was left at home. Ugh! So, I headed to CVS to find an inexpensive mascara to hold me over. Two caught my eye...

New! L’Oreal Voluminous Million Lashes Carbon Black

  • Promise: Eliminate clumps for volumized, defined lashes with 2x more intense pigments (compared to the Regular Black). Allure just named this mascara the Best of Beauty 2011.
  • Results: The rubber brush delivers a clump-free application, however, multiple coats are required for voluminous lashes. With Mally, I am satisfied with one coat and two is “wow,” though I do spend extra time with a lash comb separating clumps. I’m keeping this in my office as a back-up for those mornings when I rush to work without mascara.

My friend Joy with 2 coats of L'Oreal Mascara Before (l), After (r)

Wet n Wild Mega Length Mascara

  • Promise: Up to 80% longer looking lashes and a Self magazine Beauty Award Winner 2010 for Best Lengthening Mascara.
  • Results: At just $2.99, this is a decent mascara. It lengthens quite well, though don’t expect long-wear. Like L’Oreal, it also has a rubber brush, which must be the new innovation in mascara.
Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

