Salma Hayek Nuance, Nars How-To, Reebok EasyTone Lawsuit

October 1, 2011 at 11:12 am | Posted in Fitness, Makeup | Leave a comment
Tags: , , , ,

Everyday I come across beauty items that I want to tell you about (good and bad!). However, I often don’t have time to write up a full post on each, so thought I’d share a few “beauty bites” that are on my mind this week…

Salma Hayek Nuance

Actress Salma Hayek launched Nuance — a beauty line exclusive to CVS with hair care, skin care and makeup. According to Salma, the line was created to help women “enhance the nuances that define her individual beauty.” Interesting philosophy and some cool packaging though the products seem basic to me. I was most intrigued by the Lights, Camera, Action Eye Trio ($8.49). A creamy shadow, eyeliner and highlighter are housed in a small wand. Add mascara for a complete eye look!

Nuance Lights Camera Action Eye Trio

Eyeshadow, Liner and Highlighter

Pewter/Silver Shimmer Eye Trio

“Makeup Your Mind” By Nars

A major complaint I have about beauty how-to books is the lack of specific product recommendations. Well, NARS is the first book I’ve EVER read that not only shows how to apply makeup but which products/colors to use. Of course, it’s all NARS products, but hey sometimes you can’t have it all! The models are diverse ages and ethnicities, so there’s a look for everyone. I checked-out “Makeup Your Mind” from the library, but will be adding it to my permanent collection.

Before & After with Step-By-Step Instructions

Diverse ages and ethnicities

Reebok EasyTone Lawsuit & Refunds

I named Reebok EasyTone shoes a Top 10 Beauty Must-Have. Apparently not everyone feels the same! Reebok was slapped with a lawsuit by the Federal Trade Commission for making false claims that the shoes could “strengthen and tone leg and butt muscles.” In my post I wrote that I didn’t see a toning effect though I felt my legs worked harder which made for a better workout. So, I can see both sides of the issue.

Reebok settled with the FTC for $25 million and buyers may be eligible for a refund. Apply for a refund here.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

