A Grown-Up Green Metallic Eyeshadow: Splurge & Steal

September 7, 2011 at 10:41 pm | Posted in Makeup | 1 Comment
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Too Faced Shadow Insurance is 50% off at ULTA TODAY ONLY (Sept. 9) as part of the “21 Days of Beauty Event.” Just $9! Shop online or in-store. This shadow base will keep your green metallic eyeshadow in place, I promise.

Amazing, there isn’t a single green eyeshadow in my massive makeup collection! Until recently, that is. Green metallic eyeshadow is a key trend in the September beauty magazines and I love the look. But, bright colors don’t work on eyes older than a teenager, so I set-out in search of shadow that is green, but doesn’t scream green. These are my favorites…

L'Oreal Shocked or MAC Swiss Chocolate with Green Smoke (clockwise from bottom)

L'Oreal (l), MAC (r)

Splurge: The MAC makeup artist at Nordstrom suggested Green Smoke, a tarnished olive eyeshadow, with Swiss Chocolate, a matte reddish brown, for balance ($15 each). Never would I have put these shades together, but it emerged as my favorite metallic green look!

Steal: L’Oreal Hip metallic shadow duo in Shocked is also a very pretty, wearable green ($7.99). With gold shadow, the green takes on a summery or ethereal look.

L'Oreal Shocked

MAC Green Smoke w/Swiss Chocolate

Even Better Steal: As a dupe option to either the MAC or L’Oreal, try NYX Eyeshadow Palette in Secret World (BTW, I just learned this was pronounced ‘nicks,’ I always thought it was N-Y-X, silly me!). For $11 you get 10 shades with strong color intensity to mix and match.

NYX Palette in Secret World

Secret World Swatches

Lastly, I had to tell you about the Smashbox Limitless Eyeliner in Golden Ivy. Shades of dark green, gold, brown and gray combine to create the most gorgeous shade of green I’ve ever seen! And it’s neutral enough that I’ve been wearing it everyday with a variety of shadows.

Smashbox Limitless Eyeliner in Golden Ivy

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. […] off any purchase today through November 28. I swear by Brow Tech To-Go, another everyday must, and Limitless Eyeliner, which stays on all-day and comes with a built-in sharpener. The colors are both on-trend and […]


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

