Two Perfect Summer Glosses for $5

July 8, 2011 at 11:24 am | Posted in Makeup | Leave a comment
Tags: , , , , , ,

Went a little gloss crazy! Shopping at Target I spotted a new line of glosses: NYC Liquid Lip Shine. At only $2.49 I bought three: peach/coral and fuchsia – the hottest shades for summer — and a brown for fall. Since L’Oreal also just launched a new line of glosses, Colour Riche le Gloss, I thought I’d do a comparison.

Summer Peach/Coral

L'Oreal Golden Splash (top), NYC Brighton Beach Peach (bottom)

NYC (l), L'Oreal (r)

L’Oreal le Gloss wowed me with Golden Splash. It’s a gorgeous, medium-pigmented shade of peachy coral with a hint of shimmer. The NYC Brighton Beach Peach is also very nice, just a lighter color with a touch of frost. This line comes with a fantastic flexible sponge applicator that helps product stay in the lip line. And it delivers decent wear for a gloss.

Summer Fuchsia

L'Oreal Watermelon Crush (top), NYC Fashion Ave Fuchsia (bottom)

NYC (l), L'Oreal (r)

The Fashion Ave Fuchsia shade of NYC Liquid Lip Shine has high pigment color and at full-strength is definitely bright. Blot it with tissue and it becomes a wearable “I’m age 42 and want to look stylish not garish” pink. I didn’t like the L’Oreal le Gloss Watermelon Crush as much. On me, it looks nothing like the model pictured in the display – more sheer and no opalescence.

Lips for Fall 2011: Brown

NYC Honey Hudson

Wearing Honey on the Hudson

Brown lips are in for Fall 2011! As a pink lips girl, the jury is still out on this trend. I’ll be writing soon about the new looks but thought I’d try one in the meantime. In the tube NYC’s Honey on the Hudson appears close to a new Chanel shade– a pretty brown with some pink. Wearing it though? It turned orange-ish on me. Not my favorite look.

I want to mention that both NYC Liquid Lip Shine and L’Oreal le Gloss are ultra moisturizing. Many products leave my lips dried up like prunes, but with these I stay hydrated. Both glosses have a slight fruity flavor.

 

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

