I’m On MORE Magazine’s Detox Diet This Week

July 1, 2011 at 9:36 am | Posted in Body Care | 117 Comments
Tags: , ,

MORE Magazine July/Aug 2011 Issue

Edit on July 30: I completed the second Detox Diet, this time with the correct granola. See my experience here.

I woke up in Las Vegas with a terrible stomach ache. And no, not the kind from a “what stays in Vegas” party the night before. It bothered me the whole trip, so when I came across the “Detox Diet” in MORE magazine on the plane home, I was interested.

The Detox Diet is a 3-day “anti-inflammatory cleanse” developed by Lyn-Genet Recitas, a holistic nutritionist. It also claims weight loss of 5 pounds. The philosophy is that certain foods give our body more of a reaction, so by eliminating all potentially reactive foods and slowly reintroducing them, we determine our personal “body-friendly” foods. For example, Recitas says oatmeal makes many people constipated and gain weight (yikes, I eat this every morning!). While berries are well-tolerated.

I’m not big into dieting and have never done a cleanse, but thought I can do anything for 3 days. And beauty is so much how we feel and I needed help in this area.

Get a sample 3-day detox diet here. The recipe instructions aren’t totally complete but I was able to figure things out. A few items I never found at the store (e.g., mesclun or chia seeds), so substituted with a similar food on the list or went without.

Here’s my journal on the 3-Day Detox Diet…

Pre-Day 1: Monday

11 p.m. Heading to bed, why didn’t I eat more today? I’m nervous about how hungry I’m going to feel the next 3 days.

Day 1: Tuesday

9 a.m. I eat breakfast, so far so good.

Breakfast: 1 C Granola, 1C Berries

11:50 a.m. Usually I don’t eat until later, but I’m so ready for lunch. I also normally try to fit in a quick workout at lunch, but skip it, afraid it will increase my appetite.

2 p.m. My stomach hurts and I desperately want a snack. Somehow my will-power kicks in and I avoid cheating (I’m only half-way through Day 1, how bad would that be?!)

5 p.m. I stop by a specialty grocery store to pick up items that I couldn’t find at Safeway. HUGE mistake! Everything looks so tasty and I start fantasizing about what I’m going to eat when this is over.

7 p.m. Dinner — Aaahhh, what a relief! I feel much better!

10 p.m. I’m craving cookies and bread. Best go to sleep to avoid the cravings.

Day 2: Wednesday

7 a.m. I wake up and am not real hungry; I feel good and hop on the scale, expecting big things — nada — not one pound gone. This diet has some making up to do!

9 a.m. I eat breakfast and still feel fine.

10 a.m. Is it lunch time yet, I’m hungry? I tell myself I can’t eat until 11 a.m. At 10:54 a.m. I prepare the food so it’s ready to inhale in exactly 6 minutes.

11 a.m.  Lunch is o.k. but I’m not full, so I eat the afternoon snack too. French bread would taste so good right now.

4 p.m. The same achy stomach is back.

6 p.m. I’m craving Hot Tamale’s candy

Day 3: Thursday

7 a.m. Dropped 2 pounds! And I’m not too terribly hungry.

10 a.m. Feeling good!

12:30 p.m. I pleasantly notice that it’s time for lunch, however it doesn’t fill me up, so I eat part of the afternoon snack

Day 3 Dinner: Chicken, Zucchini, Salad; Meat, at last!

The rest of the day I feel fine, not too hungry. But I can’t wait for toast first thing tomorrow morning (weird because I rarely eat toast).

Conclusion: Friday

I’m really glad I did the Detox Diet! I feel better — healthier and lighter –  no stomach ache. It introduced me to healthy foods I’d never eaten before (some I liked and some I’ll never touch again, like kale!). I realized how much junk/processed foods I regularly eat, so I need to balance this out with more vegetables. And today the scale dropped another 1/2 pound, so a 2.5 pound total weight loss!

117 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. You aren’t supposed to eat granola as oats are VERY inflammatory- if you read the detox carefully it says to use columbia count granola which is OAT FREE AND WHEAT FREE.

    • Thanks so much for clarifying! I totally read the Columbia County as a suggestion and didn’t realize the difference. Now, I may have to try the cleanse again!

  2. If you would like to try it, I will ship it to you at no cost- I am so happy you tried it! Please e-mail me your address and I will have our baker ship to you!
    Theplan@lyngenet.com. Have a happy and healthy 4th!

    • My husband and I are in the cleanse portion of the diet and we are having bloating and stomach cramps. I think it’s from the flax seed cereal – has anyone else reported a problem? I am drinking the appropriate amount of water. Thanks for your help!

  3. Hello, I started this diet almost three days ago. I made the same mistake you did with the granola – the More website was not specific but I noticed today it has been fixed and states no oats in granola. I can’t complain, I’ve lost a total of 2.6 lbs as of this morning. I agree with you, some of the food has been great and some – not so much. I don’t live anywhere near NY so not sure where to go from here. Thank you for blogging about this diet!

    • Good for you :-) I’m glad the website is updated so others don’t make our mistake. Agreed, it would be nice to live closer to NY to have access to Lyn, I’m way out west in Seattle.

  4. Sorry this wasn’t sent earlier- my assistant just got back on Wed!

    You can order the flax granola – http://www.columbiacountybread.com
    portions for nuts in salads is appx 1/2 oz or 1 handful
    parmesan is appx 1/2 oz

    use lemon juice and extra virgin olive oil for all salads- add any herbs you would like

    Carrot Ginger Soup-
    • 1.5 lbs carrots
    • 1 zucchini
    • 1 onion
    • 2-3 cloves garlic
    • Raw Ginger, Cinnamon, Cumin, Onion powder to taste
    • Black pepper to taste
    • Chop- Simmer – Puree
    • For thicker soup use ½ liter water

    the carrot ginger is our anti-inflammatory soup so make a BIG batch and freeze for when you are reactive

    1 beet and 4-5 carrots with make 4 portions of carrot beet salad (roughly- stores well in Tupperware container)

    Choice of milk for flax granola is rice dream or silk coconut milk

    Day 1- cleanse
    1/2 to 1 cup Flax granola with 1 cup berries- some people are STUFFED with a full cup so play around with what works for you!

    Lunch
    Soup with sunflower seeds
    Mixed greens with 1/4 cup low sodium chickpeas, cucumbers and pumpkin seeds

    Snack
    Watermelon cucumber mint salad- 2 cups

    Dinner
    Sauteed kale, carrots, broc, zucchini, shiitakis, onions and garlic in spicy coco sauce
    Grated raw beet and carrot salad with sunflower seeds

    Day 2- cleanse
    ½ cup Flax granola with 1 cup berries

    Lunch
    Leftover veg
    1 cup rice with sunflower seeds

    Snack
    Pear 8 almonds

    Dinner
    sautéed veg with herbes de provence or italian herbs-
    zucchini, carrot, broc and onion on a bed of spinach with sauteed shiitakis- herbs and sauté with garlic
    Grated carrot beet with pumpkin seeds

    Day 3
    ½ cup Flax granola with 1 cup berries

    Lunch
    Soup
    Leftover vegetables on a bed of mixed greens with sunflower or pumpkin seeds

    Snack
    2 rye crackers with 1 tbsp raw almond butter and 1/2 pear slices

    Dinner
    1/2 portion chicken with 3 tbsp mango salsa on a bed of arugula
    sauteed zucchini with basil,onion ,chili flakes and finish with lemon
    ~ dice mango with red onion, cilantro, lime juice and cayenne pepper~

    • Lyn-Genet… thanks for sharing… I love your book… starting on Wednesday… I had to do the Yeast thing first :(.

  5. Thanks for taking the time to send a new cleanse diet :-) I’ll try it this week.

  6. I’m really interested in trying this, I believe that foods do cause an inflammatory reaction. My issue with some diets is that I do not, ever, eat fish, tuna on occasion, and mushrooms are just as offensive, but so many diets call for these foods as main meals. I eat chicken frequently, tell me chicken is okay!

    • Good question about the chicken! I’m not sure as it isn’t noted on Lyn’s reactive foods list.

  7. I have been eating on More Lyn-Genet Recitas diet for 4 days and have lost 6.6 pounds. I feel great. I just don’t know what the next step is and they are booked until the spring. Being perimenopausal, I was feeling thick, bloated, tired and achey. I no longer am waking up with achey joints and can wear my skinny jeans. My family are enjoying the recipes as well.

    • Wow, that’s awesome results! Too bad about the booked schedule, it sounds like Lyn needs to write a follow-up article :-)

  8. Chicken is everyone’s friend- book and app will be coming out, met with a bunch of agents and publishing houses and found one I liked-.

    SO happy you have done so well Karen- please let me know if you haven’t received extra menus- my assistant will e-mail you some.

    • Congratulations on the success you’re having with the program! Many thanks for the updates.

  9. I’m finally done working like a maniac and it’s time to relax and get things in order. Going shopping for groceries tomorrow, I’ve never had raw beets, but I’ll give them a try.

    • Good luck! Keep us posted. I’m on Day 3 of the re-do, with the correct flax granola. This time I shopped for veggies at the local farmers market and saved quite a bit of money.

  10. I love this blog and really appreciate Lyn-Genet taking the time to provide additional information. I finished Day 1 of her cleanse today, and feel great. Food was delicious and held me throughout the day. Plus I took greater effort to drink more water.

    • Thank you for reading and the compliment, you made my day! I agree Lyn has been wonderful to keep us informed. Feel free to write back and let us know how the next couple of days go.

  11. I am starting the 3-day cleanse next week, thanks for sharing your blog experience! Do you know if coffee is okay? The only beverage I found listed was water….thanks!

    • Good question, hopefully we’ll get an answer. My “caffeine” of choice is Diet Coke, which I’m certain is a no-no.

      • Lyn’s assistant, Maggie, emailed me back and said “PS. No coffee during the detox, please! After the detox it is perfectly fine for most people to have 1 cup with half & half or whole milk in the morning.” Not sure I can deal with the no-caffiene headache….we’ll see

        • Thanks for letting us know! Good luck with the coffee “break,” hopefully it won’t be too tough. Just keep telling yourself it’s only 3 days :-)

          • I think it’s probably a good idea to deal with the caffeine withdrawal BEFORE starting the detox, so you don’t have extra worries.
            Also, it’s amazing that a 2,000-calorie per day diet would still leave one so hungry! Maybe it’s like she said … it’s a matter of WHAT food we’re putting in our bodies! I can’t wait to do this cleanse. But I definitely have to resolve a couple issues first.
            (Hey, I wonder if we can use Sobe Lifewater w/ Stevia as part of our water intake?)

  12. I am also on Day 2 of Cleanse. Lyn’s assistant gave me some other menus to try for the rest of the year as Lyn is booked for appointments. I found the 3 Day Cleanse kind of hard to decipher but am making the best of it. My Carrot-Ginger soup turned out great. I could not find the Oat-free granola so am having puffed rice instead. My question is also about coffee. I had one cup this am with rice milk. Anyway, thanks for posting this and please let us know how the second cleanse is going. Also, how great that Lyn is reading your posts and giving assistance. Good luck!

    • I’m so glad you wrote and shared your experience! I also liked the soup and thought it had good flavor. I will post later this week on my second cleanse, which was much more pleasant than the first.

  13. Thank you so much for this blog. After reading the article in More, I also decided to try the detox. I’m on my third day as I’m reading your blog with my coffee in hand! I also had a glass of red wine last night. I wondered about beverage choices and told myself that it must not be that important. Oh well, I’ve lost 3 lbs. so far. I was disappointed that I’m on a wait list until May to sign up for Lyn-Genet’s Plan. I also wanted to know what to do after the 3-day detox. This blog has been very helpful. I also received some menu information from Maggie, Lyn- Genet’s assistant. I’m going to attempt to find which foods are highly reactive for me. We’ll see what happens.

    • You’re welcome, I’m glad you found it useful. Funny about the coffee, though it sounds like you did well regardless. Thanks for reading!

  14. [...] to read oat-free granola, but initially it didn’t specify. See the Detox Diet here. Read my first experience with the Detox Diet here. Be sure to view the comments as Lyn shares an optional Detox Diet with a few seasonal updates. [...]

  15. I lost 3 lbs and aside from a few headaches from the caffiene withdrawal, I feel great. I was surprised that I wasn’t feeling hungry in between meals, and it was nice to be re-introduced to some of the hearty/leafy greens that I haven’t eaten in a while. I definitely plan to try the detox again as I was very pleased with the menu selections and the results and will refer to the new menu that was posted.

    I too was unable to find the oat free granola, and opted for a hot rice cereal (oat free) called Organic Rice and Shine by Arrowhead Mills which I really enjoyed. I hope that this qualifies as an “acceptable” alternative to the oat free granola!

    • Fabulous results, I do appreciate you sharing! That’s great you weren’t hungry, to me that was the hardest part. I’m with you on the veggies, it was nice to eat new varieties, and I’m continuing to incorporate these into my diet.

  16. Can you please send me a copy of what to eat and what not to eat so I can continue to lose because I have come to a stand still again? Just curious! Thank you for your time, patience, understanding and efforts made in regard to this matter or situataion.
    Sincerely Yours;
    Becky S. Sparks
    P.s. my user name is Coke0Lady42 though!!!

  17. I’m starting the detox tomorrow! Thanks for all of the information! I will definitely post regarding my progress!

    • Yay! Good luck. Look forward to hearing about your experience.

  18. Does anyone know about sweet potatoes or corn on The Plan?

  19. I am starting the detox diet today and very excited. I read the MORE article and then found this site, so GLAD you have posted your experience. I love all the foods and have a relatively clean diet now but do have a weakness for sugar (chocolate). I too could not find the no oats granola, looking at WF and two local food Co-ops so I opted for a Brown Rice Grits cereal and Puffed brown rice cereal. I’ll be purchasing the other ingredients today and I’m excited to see how the week goes.

    • I bet the detox diet will be easy for you since you already eat the right foods! I also have a sweet tooth, which is a tough one to break. Thanks for writing and sharing your cereal options!

  20. I did find a granola cereal by “Bakery on Main” in the gluten free section of Walmart of all places! Hopefully it’s acceptable, no oats! My husband is having a very hard time with an inflamed nervous system having had shingles two years ago and now severe nerve tingling in hands and feet. I’m hopeful this diet will help him too. Thanks for the support.

  21. I have an appointment for this fall and I am so excited. I am placing my deposit this week. I am super glad to find these comments and to learn more about your experience with the detox diet.

    • I’m so glad you found this blog helpful! And I’m totally jealous that you’ll be working with Lyn :)

  22. I had read about The Plan several months ago in More so I had the old version. I started the diet today with the wrong granola. Wish I had found your blog before shopping and preparing the salads and soup. I will have to order the granola and then restart the diet. What a bummer =(
    It definitely sounds like a good plan. I have an autoimmune disease and ache all over…so I’m hopeful.
    Like others here on this blog I live in another state from Lyn Recitas.

    Thank you for the updates,
    Suzi

    • That is a bummer about the granola, it was an easy mistake to make! I recently saw an oat-free granola line at Whole Foods (sorry I can’t remember the brand, but I’ll post it when I go back to the store). Thanks so much for writing and I hope the diet helps you feel better :-)

    • Hi Suzi,
      I know this is an old blog, but I am hoping you see this as I too have an autoimmune disease and I wondered if the Plan helped you?
      Thanks,
      Steph

  23. Does anyone know if green tea (decaf) and honey is acceptable?

    Thank you,

    Suzi

  24. This is the first time I ever stayed on a Cleanse/Diet! I completed the The Plan on Saturday and have been pleased with the results. I wondered what I was going to do after the 3 day cleanse since Lyn is fully booked through next year and there’s limited direction or guidance about what to do after the cleanse. If anything, her plan jump starts a more healthy way of eating. Surprisingly, I have more energy and haven’t needed a nap. Also, I have no cravings for sugar and I was a major sugar junkie! This outcome was somewhat unexpected! I also wondered whether Green Tea is ok to drink. I drank Matcha Green Tea daily and have completed gone off coffee ( I used to drink coffee with 2 shots of espresso). The Matcha tea is basically the tea leaf in powder form, and so you are basically consuming the leaves! Also, I was a bit surprised that I wasn’t too terribly hungry when on the cleanse but there were times that I felt like snacking or that something was missing – never could pinpoint what it was that I was craving. The cleanse makes you think about desires for food and whether it’s based on true hunger or something else.

    Suzie K

    • Your update makes me smile, I’m so pleased for you :-) It’s been awhile since I completed the diet and I’ve noticed a continued decrease in my sugar cravings – I still want candy and cookies but the desire isn’t as strong — and an increase in desire for veggies (can’t tell you how many zucchini’s I’ve eaten this summer, which never happened before)!

      • I forgot to mention that within a week, I stopped clearing my throat from acid reflux and I didn’t experience hot flashes anymore! My skin looks clearer too!

  25. I read the August comment that some readers have emailed Lyn and received a diet. It would be nice if the additional info could be shared with all.

    • Agreed, that would be great to get more food recommendations!

  26. Thank you so much for this awesome post, and for all of the fantastic comments! I’m wondering if anyone knows if there are good vegetarian alternatives to the chicken. Should I just omit the chicken and call it good, or could I eat more chickpeas (or something else) instead? Thanks in advance for any insight or advice that any of you might have. I’m super-excited to do the detox!

    • Thanks so much for reading, I’m very glad you found the post helpful! Fellow “Detox Dieters” are very resourceful gals and I’ve learned alot myself. I’m not sure about a chicken alternative, but I did add in extra of other diet ingredients when I couldn’t find something and I still saw results. So, just my opinion, but the chickpeas option sounds like a good plan. I’m traveling this week and eating/drinking a lot, so I’ll be doing a third round of the Detox Diet soon. Good luck to you! I hope you’ll share your results.

  27. I actually came across this post a few weeks ago when I was looking for some other people’s perspective on trying this detox. I found it very helpful and I also posted my own experience as well on my blog if anyone was interested. I made some substitions which I explain in more detail on my post, but still followed the general food guidlines when making those and didn’t see a problem with it. I lost about 3 pounds (would have been more but i calculayed a gain day in when I completely cheated) but best of all I felt much better, more enegery and I didn’t have the usual stomach issues I usually have. I am also from Seattle and found our local co-ops have some great subsitutions, not to mention oat free granola for those who aren’t interested in paying shipping. http://dressmestylish.com/2011/09/15/review-lyn-genet-recitas-the-plan-detox-diet.aspx

    • Oh ya, and I just got back from traveling as well so I am about to try round number 2, I hope your 3rd time is just as successful as the other two.

      • Thanks, good luck to you as well! This time I will cook a lot of extra carrot soup, which sounds perfect for the cooler weather. BTW, I don’t usually shop at the co-ops so didn’t think of looking there for hard-to-find ingredients, but that is a good idea!

    • I enjoyed reading your Detox Diet post! Great suggestion to cook with flavored olive oil for variety.

  28. Wow- have been so busy I haven’t had a chance to check up on you- I had a few people mention they had been following your blog and the support you gave was so wonderful and now I see why!!

    My dear friends, the plan is all about finding YOUR foods and as such a standard 3 day detox is hard to do. I am so glad so many of you had great success with this. The detox will not work as well for women who have thyroid dysfunction or if you are under 35 . If you lost less that 3 lbs pls e-mail my assistant and she will give you some great info. You all sound like such amazing women I wish I could help more, and if you can think of any ways I CAN help you better please let me know. I am working on a book and an app.

    Remember it’s NOT about being perfect, it’s just about listening to our bodies’ . It all falls into place form there. LG

    • It’s wonderful to hear from you! Thanks for taking the time to write and share more advice. I especially like the part about simply listening to our bodies, I’ve certainly been much more tuned-in to this since completing the detox.

      I am so pleased that readers have found support here, this gives me true joy! And I can’t wait to read the book and use the app :-)

  29. I did this cleanse and lost 5 pounds in about five days. I have pretty much stayed on it, but have added in different things to see if they are reactive. I have gained back a pound. Lyn indicates that you should continue to lose unless something is extremely reactive. However, even on days that I am eating only foods on the very low reactive scale I am no longer losing any weight. i am now wondering if i lost weight only because there were so few calories on the first three days. i tried to eat more of the allowed foods so as not to go below 1200 calories. Any thoughts?

    • Great question!!! It makes sense that the low number of calories would contribute to the weight loss. For me, I felt like the few pounds I lost were more of the “bloat” from eating reactive foods. And I have not lost additional weight, though I have kept off the lost pounds. Hopefully Lyn or another reader will also respond! Thanks for writing :-)

  30. Here’s the info I received from Lyn-Genet regarding how to contact her assistant. I changed it to all words so hopefully the spambots won’t bombard it.
    —-
    If you are interested in The Plan you may e-mail Maggie at
    maggietheplan at gmail dot com for more information.

    Wishing You Peace and Joy,
    Lyn-Genet , Director of Nutrition- The Plan

    http://www.lyn-genet.com
    lyngenet’s blog ~ lyn-genet.blogspot.com
    lyngenet on twitter ~ twitter.com/lyngenet

    • Thanks for sharing! And the workaround for spam :-) Hope you have a Happy Holidays!

  31. Thanks so much for doing this! Is one recipe of the soup, 1 serving? I wasn’t sure if the recipe made multiple servings?

    • The soup does make multiple servings. Both times I “detoxed” I had some for leftovers. Lyn also suggests preparing extra and freezing for later, which sounds great during the cold winter. Good luck!

  32. Hello all!
    If you check our website you will find the recipe for the flax granola it is SO easy to make and is very filling (and inexpensive) ! Great for digestive health, rich in omega 3 and protein. Also our fall menus are on my blog- check it out (see above)
    Keep an eye on there as winter menus will be up soon!

    Some faves from the last menus are the lamb shepherds pie, our vegan broth and Kafayat’s Indonesian soup!

    1 glass of green tea is fine on the detox but pay attention to how you feel on a second, the acid can bother some people

    Happy 2012!

  33. I want you eating til you’re full! So have as much soup as you would like (btw the carrot ginger soup is AMAZING for reducing inflammation when you have a reactive food)

  34. Hi everyone!

    It’s Maggie, the assistant, here :)

    For those of you who are new to The Plan and interested in giving it a try as part of your new year’s resolution, we are offering our associate program at a special rate of $250.00 through January 15! (Originally $300.00)

    Contact me – maggietheplan at gmail dot com – for more details.

    Happy New Year!

    • One more thing everyone –
      Please feel free to contact me for our 2012 Cookbook with tons of delicious recipes that are all Plan-friendly!

    • Hello! I’m the one who posted the question here back in September about vegetarian alternatives on The Plan. I just wanted to check back in again and let you know that I did the Associate Program (which Maggie mentioned above) a few months ago, and it was worth every penny! It was fascinating to actually pay attention to how my body reacted to various foods. I learned invaluable lessons about which foods are friendly and not friendly for me personally, and how to tell the difference. But the best part of it was learning how to listen to the signals that my body was sending me after I ate certain foods. I had never actually paid attention to those signals before, so this was something of a revelation for me. I feel much more in tune with my body and its relationship with food. If anyone has any specific questions about my experience, feel free to post them here and I’ll try to respond.

      • WOW, that makes me so happy!! Thanks SeattleDeb and Amanda

      • Hi SD,

        I just bought the plan today and must say I’m really intrigued by Lyn’s concept! I was getting all excited to try the program until I discovered it doesn’t have any vegetarian options! So I googled and came across your comment. It’d be really helpful if you could recommend any vegetarian substitutes since you have already completed the plan! I’d really really appreciate any information.

        Thanks,
        G

      • I would be very interested in the vegetarian options you can up with as well. Thanks so much!

      • I am reading the book and also sad to see no vegetarian options. I’d love some answers too! I’m actually vegan but willing to add the cheese during the 20 days to see how my body reacts to it. Thanks so much!

        • Hello again! I recently finished reading Lyn-Genet’s book, and it was fantastic–but I was also disappointed by the lack of vegetarian/vegan options in the book. I was hoping for more too. When I did the plan, I tested different types of beans, cheeses, tofu, tempeh, and eggs. I was reactive to eggs, but that’s OK because I prefer to eat a mostly vegan diet anyway. I was also reactive to tofu, which is OK because I try to limit my soy intake. Surprisingly, black beans were a friendly food for me. (That was surprising because apparently black beans are reactive for most people.) Goat cheese was friendly for me. My favorite go-to “friendly meal” is a kale salad with black beans and goat cheese; I love it. The Whole Foods brand of goat cheese is delicious and is rennet-free, for those of you vegetarians/vegans who avoid animal enzymes. If the rest of you have any other veggie-specific suggestions, I’d love to hear them! Thanks, all!!

          • I was able to find the vegan and vegetarian menu options on Lyn’s website (www.lyngenet.com). Click on The Book tab, then Tips For Book Readers. Thanks for your interesting input, SeattleDeb! The kale with black beans and goat cheese salad sounds fantastic.

            • Peggy, thank you so much for the pointer to all of those extra resources on the web site. I had no idea those existed! THANK YOU!

  35. Thank you so much for all your advice Lyn! :)

  36. [...] my experience and those of other readers on the Detox Diet #1, including feedback from [...]

  37. I am really excited to start this cleanse but at the same time, my husband would like to also. He read and copied the More article cleanse and i added what Lyn-Genet added at the beginning of this feed. It isn’t enough calories for him. Has anyone had a man take this cleanse. Robin

    • If you use the flax granola and have enough olive oil (3 tbsp per day with sauteeing and dressing) you should be consuming 1700+calories a day.

  38. Hi Everyone,
    Our Winter 2012 menus are now available on Lyn-Genet’s blog! Check them out here: http://lyn-genet.blogspot.com/2012/01/winter-menu-2012.html
    You can also now “Like” us on our new Facebook page – just search for “The Plan.”
    Enjoy!
    -Maggie

    • I cannot find “The Plan” on Facebook – is anyone else able to find it? Would really love to try this plan, as I’ve heard nothing but great results from it, but I cannot eat flax seeds without having serious stomach issues… does anyone know an alternative? Thanks for this blog by the way, its great!

      • Hi Elisabeth! Thanks for writing, I’m so pleased you like the blog :-) I just tried searching The Plan on Facebook and also couldn’t find it (I’m not on Facebook, so hadn’t previously looked); I did see that Lyn-Genet has another Facebook page, which you might find valuable: search Facbook “Neighborhood Holistic.” I hope someone has an option to the flax seeds, as it sounds like that is a highly reactive food for you. Good luck!

  39. I was fortunate to be able to work with Lyn-Genet in November on The Plan and lost 11 lbs. learning mostly how to listen differently to my body and its responses to what, when and how I was eating. Though I have kept it off during December-January, I wasn’t able to keep the loss going due to travel, holidays, and moving. I redid the cleanse completely and “restarted” things a 6 days ago. I look forward to seeing what kinds of results I get this time – just want to lose maybe another 10 lbs. I have had incredible changes in perimenopausal symptoms eating this way. (My chin hair no longer is growing! My “warming trends” are absent as well.) I recommend giving it a try to anyone wanting a healthier way of eating/living and interested in looking at individual needs and reactions to food. What has mostly been confirmed to me is we live in the bell-curve world. Some of us are truly on the edges and what works for most doesn’t always work for all. Best of luck!

  40. Love Columbia County Granola? Special for friends of The Plan: enter this code and receive $5 off your order: TP74071 ! Plus receive FREE SHIPPING when you order 3 bags or more. http://www.columbiacountybread.com

    • PLEASE NOTE: This coupon code is only valid for orders of the flax granola that are $26.00 or more.

  41. Join facebook page Doing the Plan. Lots of help.

  42. The Plan’s Spring Cookbook is now available-

    Click here to download: http://lyngenet.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/04/Spring-Cookbook-2012.pdf

    Happy Spring!

  43. Good morning My Ray of Beauty readers! Valid today only – “Like” The Plan on Facebook and receive a complimentary 30-minute consult with one of our associates – https://www.facebook.com/pages/The-Plan/267366966661770

  44. I completed The 20 day Plan with Lyn-Genet in 2012 and lost 23 lbs. I have a gluten intolerance and had felt awful on a gluten free diet. With Lyn-Genet’s help, I discover potatoes were a huge problem for me. I eliminated potatoes, tomatoes and peppers (the Nightshade Family) and I have never felt better. She changed my life.

  45. Have any type 2 diabetics insulin dependent tried this plan? If the answer is yes what were the results?

    • Hi Caitlyn! This is Dr. Katie and I work as the nutrition director at The Plan– I’m also a type 1 diabetic myself so have seen how insulin needs shift and change firsthand! What I have found for myself and for our diabetic clients is that reactive foods can trigger an insulin response even if the food is lower in sugar. For instance, cheese for me can be a trigger for an insulin response even though it has minimal carbs! Now that I’ve been able to determine the foods that do and don’t work optimally my blood sugars have been in tight control and I’ve been able to lower my insulin levels by over 1/3! Many clients do find that they are able to lower insulin substantially pretty quickly after starting. I’m always happy to talk blood sugar and Insulin so if you ever have any questions don’t hesitate to email me at drkatie@lyngenet.com :)

      • Thank you for writing and answering Caitlyn’s question :-)

  46. [...] about my first Detox Diet experience. And the second time around. You’ll also see feedback from Lyn-Genet, her expert [...]

  47. I really wanted to start this cleanse, but I just read Lyn say that it wont work for those with thyroid issues. I have Hashimoto’s disease that is being controlled with Armour. Do you know what changes I should make in order to follow the cleanse. thanks in advance

    • Hi Ava! It’s actually fantastic for clients with hashimoto’s and many of our clients find that their thyroid function improves dramatically while on The Plan and they are able to lower their Armour doses. You can download our winter thyroid friendly menu to get started at http://lyngenet.com/tips-for-book-readers/
      -Katie

      • thanks so very much. I really appreciate it

  48. The chicken, zucchini and sald looks so delicious. Yummy, making me hungry! What salad is that by the way?

    • The salad is carrots/beets. An extra bonus for me of the Detox Diet was developing a love of zucchini. I now eat it regularly (in fact, had it just last night for dinner).

  49. Barely functioning and unable to work with finances gone, severe episodes of IBS, debilitating fatigue, coldness, tingling and numbness of my bottom lip and body on fire and itchy, throat closing up and wild heartbeat, and a whole lot of other things not to mention chronic puffy eyes making me unrecognizable, weight up and down by 5 pounds per day, gaining 45 pounds in the last two years on what I eat!,and all doc and allergist can say is my tests are fine. Thanks to Lyn-Genet- you ‘turned a light on’ for me, I’ve just read the book, done my grocery shopping and starting the cleanse today.
    Jan H.

    • Best of luck to you, Jan, may good come your way! I’m so glad you found support in the book.

    • That is so wonderful to hear Jan!! Yes it definitely sounds like you are in a high state of inflammation! Pls join us on FB if you can so you can pose questions as they cmoe up! All my best Lyn-Genet

  50. Thank you for this Blog! What a wonderful source of info and support. I just strted te plan today. I drank my water as allowe but am still thristy. i didnt drink anything else all day for fear of “over achieving”. I have the new book but cant find anything relavent in it for this question. Can I drink other things and if so what? do those liquids count against my ounces per day? Im determined to make this work.

    • Thanks Julie for the kind words! Good luck to you on the plan :-)

    • Hi Julie– I would try adding lemon juice to your water– works wonders to help you feel more hydrated! Also feel free to join us on our FB page–as questions come up we are happy to help!
      Dr. Katie

  51. I don’t believe I will be continuing on The Plan. Just after lunch on day one, I experienced several bouts of diarrhea! I suspect it was the carrot soup but it may have been the broccoli. Any ideas?

    • Hi Christina– It’s very normal to have a shift in digestion the first 2 days as the body adjusts to the veggie fiber! Did you use the flax granola or the blueberry/pear compote for breakfast on day 1?
      Dr. Katie

  52. Thank you, I have the book and I am on the plan , but I have some questions. The water, I know, it is have of your body weight in ounces, my question is, the 16 ounces of water with lemon in the A M count against my daily water in take or not? I read that if you drink too much can affect your results.
    Thanks,
    Carmen Skoletsky

    • Hi Carmen– yes, the 16 oz of water in the morning with lemon counts towards your intake!

  53. Did anyone think of making a shopping list for this diet. Its a lot of work

    • What a great idea Debra!

    • Hi Debra! This is Dr. Katie– we do have a general shopping list for days 1-7 up on our website (http://lyngenet.com/tips-for-book-readers/)– We also have a handy days 1-3 prep guide so you can make the food for all of those days in 75 minutes which makes the cleanse a lot easier!

  54. Hi All! I am on day six and so excited to have found a new way of eating! I have followed the book to the tee – EXCEPT for the beets and cooked carrots (however I DO love raw carrots). am I adversly affecting the balance?

  55. I bought the book and started the cleanse yesterday. I did spend a few hours preparing all the food and even with the grocery list made two trips to the grocery store. I was a little fuzzy headed from the lack of coffee, by the way today was better, but it has been worth it. I was amazed when I got on the scale this and found that I have lost 2.6 pounds! Can’t wait to get back on tomorrow!

  56. Greetings, I’m now on day eleven and I have lost 10 pounds and feel amazing. I’m an overeater by nature and was afraid I would be hungry on the Plan. I did experience “psychological” hunger, but I was able to convince myself I really wasn’t lacking anything and that the Plan is well thought out and nutritionally balanced. I like most of the food in the Plan and those that I don’t like, I look at them as a necessary nutrient and eat them anyway. I’ve read the book 3 times now and I learn something new each time through. I did go out to dinner on day nine and stuck to salad and salmon (both tested foods) the next morning I woke up with the same old pre-diet body aches, constipation and I had gained .50 pound. I attributed these issues to the vinegar in the salad dressing and I guess you know I won’t be eating vinegar for a while. I’m looking forward to my next annual checkup in May. I’m hoping to have my cholesterol numbers down in the normal range along with my weight. I love this new lifestyle! Thanks Lyn Genet

  57. I saw Lyn Genet OM Dr. Oz, bought her book and am ready to do the shopping to start the cleanse. I am excited as I am 46 and gained weight in the past years rapidly. I am so hoping I fit the description Lyn Genet made in her book so I can finally get my life back in control. Inwas diagnosed With IBS and told the doctors i never had this and they cant answer me. this all makes sense.

    Are you supposed to reduce your water intake as you lose weight? No one mentioned that.

    Sherry


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com. | The Pool Theme.
Entries and comments feeds.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 70 other followers

