All About the Lips and Flip Flops

June 10, 2011 at 3:24 pm | Posted in Skincare | Leave a comment
Tags: , , , ,

After my “bucket list” shopping excursion at Beauty 360 in D.C., I happened upon Blue Mercury, another beauty store missing in my hometown. Those lucky D.C. girls! Blue Mercury carries makeup artist lines, skin care, hair products and fragrance. Like Beauty 360, it also has a spa for facials and brow care.

With my recent soap box talk about wearing sunscreen on the lips, I picked up Jack Black Intense Therapy Lip Balm in Vanilla Lavender with SPF 25 (a broad spectrum sunscreen). While Jack Black is a “guys” brand, this product works wonderfully for us girls. I’m really picky about lip products because my lips dry out and chap easily. They haven’t with the Jack Black lip balm, which is slightly tacky and not too shiny, so works perfectly under lip gloss/stick.

I had no intention of purchasing a lip scrub, but couldn’t resist Sara Happ The Lip Scrub in a seasonal limited edition Sparking Pink Grapefruit flavor ($24). The hot pink box did me in! Wouldn’t it make a great bridesmaid or birthday gift? And I’d read about Sara Happ and this “must-try” lip scrub — sugar granules in petrolatum, grape seed and jojoba oils — which made this impulse buy even more exciting. Rub the product on lips in a circular motion, wipe with a tissue and follow with a hydrating lip balm (I love Aquaphor Lip Repair). My lips feel super soft and are flake-free. There are 6 flavors in the permanent line.

The lip scrub was a total impulse buy, however, it did put me above the $30 threshold for a free pair of flip flops 🙂  Unfortunately they are very uncomfortable. BTW, as I was walking back to the hotel I met up with a girl who had just done a Brazilian Blowout. I know there’s a lot of issues around the chemical but her hair looked stunningly amazing, I couldn’t stop staring! Super shiny, bouncy and smooth.

 

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

