Reviews: America’s #1 Bronzer and Carol’s Daughter Hair Repair

May 23, 2011 at 6:37 pm | Posted in Hair, Makeup, QVC | Leave a comment
Tags: , , , , ,

Carol's Daughter Monoi Repairing Regimen

Carol’s Daughter Monoi Repairing Shampoo and Hair Mask

Browsing in Sephora recently I spotted so many new items I want to try! I decided to start with Carol’s Daughter Monoi Shampoo and Hair Mask, a Sephora exclusive. First, I was out of shampoo so this was a necessary purchase. Second, I love the tropical scent of monoi and was actually excited about washing my hair. Third, the regimen promises to undo and prevent damage leaving stronger, longer hair with 96% less breakage in one week.

The shampoo ($18 for 8.4oz) is sulfate-free, yet lathers nicely. The conditioning mask ($29 for 7oz) is lighter than I expected but still left my hair soft and smooth. My scalp felt clean and my hair was detangled. And the scent — made from the Tiare flower and coconut oil — is to die for (excuse the cheesy line, but it washed that stress right out of my hair).

Rimmel Natural Bronzer Display at Walgreens

Rimmel Natural Bronzer

Apparently America’s top bronzing powder comes courtesy of London. At $5.79, it is a “great buy.” But a 40% off sale at Walgreens made it nearly free and a gotta buy! I purchased Sun Light, one of two matte shades among the three color choices. I think the perfect bronzer is matte and 1-2 shades darker than the natural skintone. Rimmel had promise, but I was disappointed in the lack of color intensity. The Sun Light didn’t show up on me so I went back and purchased Sun Bronze, which was the right shade depth but had a reddish cast that I didn’t like.

If you’re lighter skintone try the Sun Light, you can’t beat the price and clearly it’s a favorite. For me, I’ll stick with my Top 10 Beauty Must-Have Mally Believable Bronzer.

Rimmel Natural Bronzer Sun Bronze (l), Sun Light (r)

Rimmel Natural Bronzer Sun Bronze (l), Sun Light (c), Mally Believable Bronzer (r)

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

