New at the Drugstore: Pass, Try & Buy

April 27, 2011 at 8:40 am | Posted in Body Care, Makeup, Nail Polish | Leave a comment
Tags: , , , , , ,

I’ll start with the good first…


Buy: Veet Suprem’ Essence Hair Removal Gel Cream

The time is always right for smooth, hair-free skin! I’ve used Nair for years, but was sucked into the new Veet ad campaign. After trying it, I like Veet better (though honestly would probably buy whichever one was on sale, i.e. cheaper). Veet has a pleasant scent, much nicer than the chemical aroma of other hair removers. It removed my arm hair super quick, within 1-2 minutes, with zero irritation.

Veet Gel Cream Product

Veet Hair Removal Gel Cream retails at $6-$7. Get a $3 off coupon on the Veet website, which makes it half-price.

Try: Rimmel Lash Accelerator Mascara with Grow Lash Complex

When a friend commented that Rimmel Lash Accelerator was as good or even better than Mally Volumizing mascara, I took those as “fightin’ words!” I tried it for myself and, while Mally emerged victorious, Rimmel is worth a look, especially if you want to try an over-the-counter lash growth product. Rimmel promises longer, lusher and more numerous lashes: 80% longer instantly and 117% longer appearance in 30 days to be exact.

Rimmel Before (l), After (r)

As a mascara, it is a fine one, reminds me of Maybelline Lash Stilleto. My lashes were really long, probably the 80% longer and there was no clumping. On the other hand, there was some smudging and the length did a disappearing act as the day went on. The product bothered my eyes a bit, which are extra sensitive, so I didn’t use it long enough to see lash growth. However, some reviewers are reporting longer lashes in about a month, my friend included.

I purchased Rimmel Lash Accelerator at Target for $5.99 with a $1 off coupon.

NYC Expert Last Nail Polish in Lingering Lingerie

Pass: NYC Expert Last Nail Polish

Promises of “up to 7 day wear and 50% stronger nails” caught my eye, and at just $2.50, decided “what the heck!” Unfortunately, reality did not live up to the fantasy. By day two, all my nails were chipped, even areas that don’t normally, like the sides and pinkies. And Lingering Lingerie, while a very pretty shade, goes on streaky.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

