Two Beauty Buys That Are Real Eye Openers

April 19, 2011 at 9:41 am | Posted in Anti-Aging, Skincare | Leave a comment
Tags: , ,

After my post last week about under eye brighteners, I got to thinking I should tell you about a great eye cream discovery. While an eye brightener can correct with color and light-reflecting pigments, the first step to younger looking eyes is a good treatment product underneath.

I’m fanatical about eye cream (it’s right up there with pink lip gloss on my obsession list). I started using Avon Anew eye cream in my teens and in the years since have tried countless others. A few months ago, my friend Karin turned me on to Mario Badescu eye creams — a line I knew only for its best-selling blemish spot treatment. For some crazy reason, I’d walked past this counter a jillion times in the department store yet never stopped to check it out.

Mario Badescu Eye Cream Samples: Hyaluronic (L), Glycolic (R)

Now, I don’t need much arm twisting to try an eye cream that promises “skin-smoothing ingredients to keep lines and wrinkles at bay” AND has a price point of $18-$20. Cha-ching! I rushed to Nordstrom to get samples of two eye creams and have been faithfully using them for a few months (generously sized, which is important, because it takes several weeks to assess product effectiveness).

  • Glycolic Eye Cream ($20 for .5 oz) is a dense cream, suitable for nighttime. In the morning, my eyes are smoother, while the glycolic acid delivers longer-term anti-aging benefits. It’s too thick and greasy for day, though, unless your skin is desert dry.
  • Hyaluronic Eye Cream ($18 for .5 oz) is a lighter formula that absorbs entirely for day (under makeup or alone). If I forget to apply it, I’ll catch myself in the mirror with a note to self, “girl your eyes look tired!”

I am so pleased with both eye creams, why didn’t I try this line sooner? Don’t expect miracles, but I think they work just as well as ones 10X the price. I also think they work great together, but if you don’t have the cash to pick up both, I would get the Hyaluronic and use it morning and night. You’ll still get some anti-aging benefits and your eyes will look better when you’re out and about and seen by others. BTW, I did try the other eye creams in the line and these two are my favorites.

Pick-up Mario Badescu online or in stores at Nordstrom, Ulta, Lord & Taylor and Henri Bendel.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

