Travel with this Multi-Tasker and New Product Reviews

March 26, 2011 at 10:22 am | Posted in Makeup, Skincare | 3 Comments
Tags: , , , ,

Aquaphor Lip Repair

You know how the airlines expect us to fit all our beauty products in a one-quart Ziplock bag? Seriously, right!? Packing for my last trip, I had an “aha” moment. Instead of squeezing lip balm, eye makeup remover, eye cream and hair pomade into the baggie, I would try one product to accomplish all of these needs: Aquaphor Lip Repair.

Aquaphor Lip Repair ($4 at drugstores) looks and feels like Vaseline but is better — with Shea Butter, vitamins, and antioxidants. It worked like a charm! And it’s the best cure I’ve found, so far, for my severely dry chapped lips.

New! Product Reviews Page

Over the past several months, I’ve reviewed dozens of beauty products on My Ray of Beauty. I also try many products that don’t show up in a blog post, but I still want to tell you about them. Therefore, I’m officially launching a “Product Reviews” page. Here, you’ll find products that became instant faves and those that fizzled, in an easy-to-find list. Categories include: Makeup, Skincare, Bodycare, Hair Care, Nail Polish, Sunscreen and Teeth Whitening.

I will keep blogging about product reviews, but will also add items directly to the “Product Reviews” page. So, I hope you check it out and visit often.

Here is a taste of the reviews…three new lip products from Rimmel London:

Vinyl Bronze Lipgloss in Summer Nude

Wearing Summer Nude

Vinyl Bronze Mirror Shine Lipgloss ($4.94). The Summer Nude shade reminded me of a gloss from the Estee Lauder Bronze Soleil line, which is so beautiful. The Rimmel version, while a savings of $15, unfortunately doesn’t pay off in color. It is extremely sheer. While it applies smooth and moisturizing, not sticky at all, I would pay extra for the Estee Lauder version.

Moisture Renew Lipstick/Gloss in Rose

Wearing Rose

Moisture Renew Lipstick SPF 18 & Lipgloss SPF 15 ($5.97 each). I love that these two products contain sun protection. I have a dark ring around my lips from not using SPF on my lips. I didn’t love the finish, though, way too frosty, unless you like this look 🙂

For me, the Aquaphor rates a “Fave,” and the new lip products by Rimmel are “Fizzles.”

 

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. oh i was gonna buy one of their lipglosses, but it didnt have an protective rap, only a sticker so i wanst sure if people have tested it 😦

    • The Vinyl Bronze lipgloss came wrapped in plastic, so if it wasn’t there someone probably did use it. On the other hand, it’s tough finding the right colors through a wrapper!

  2. […] on lips in a circular motion, wipe with a tissue and follow with a hydrating lip balm (I love Aquaphor Lip Repair). My lips feel super soft and are flake-free. There are 6 flavors in the permanent […]


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

