Reviews: Chanel Vitalumiere Aqua Makeup, Mally Share the Love Kit

March 14, 2011 at 6:00 am | Posted in Makeup, QVC | 3 Comments
Tags: , , , , ,

I may have mentioned before (about a thousand times, right!?) that I am on a quest for a holy grail foundation. It’s much harder than I would ever have guessed! This week I tried the brand new Chanel Vitalumiere Aqua Ultra-Light Makeup, which just launched at Nordstrom. I applied it under the new Mally Beauty “Share the Love” collection, which I’m indeed loving.

Wearing Chanel Vitalumiere and Mally Kit

Chanel Vitalumiere Aqua Ultra-Light Makeup ($45) is oil-free with SPF 15. It is labeled noncomedogenic, which time will tell on my chin in about 2 weeks. It comes in 10 shades based on skin undertones: beige or pink (the sales rep tells me this is a new concept for the company). I received samples in Beige 40 Desert, Beige Rose 40 Desert and Beige 50 Sienne (the darkest shade available, so unfortunately darker ethnic skin is left out). I could wear any of these colors, but if purchasing would get Beige 40.

I really like this makeup! It’s light enough to give that non-makeup feeling, but covers (I’m not wearing concealer). And it’s buildable, I’m wearing two coats in the pictures. Compared to Lancome Teint Miracle, which I named one of the best products of 2010, it’s a draw. Vitalumiere Aqua feels better on, like a tinted moisturizer, which is my preference for everyday. And I don’t get oily as fast. Teint Miracle gives the skin a nicer glow, but is heavier. Both are water based and contain silicone ingredients, which for me often lead to breakouts. I’ll keep you posted.

L to R: Beige Rose 40, Beige 40, Beige 50

Mally "Share the Love" Kit

Mally Beauty “Share the Love” 10-piece kit is another homerun by my fave makeup line. This QVC exclusive is stocked with brand new products plus favorites. No surprise, I love it! It contains 1) Poreless Perfection Skin Finisher (I got Medium, which is a bit light; one downside to Mally is I am often in-between Medium and Tan), 2) 24/7 Illuminating Blush in Pink Satin (one of my all-time favorite products), 3) Eye Amplifying Shadow Liner in Chestnut, a deep bronze, 4) Starlight Automatic Waterproof Eyeliner in Deepest Brown, 5) Lip Magnifier in Punch, a medium pink, 6) Lip Magnifier in Blush, a sheer golden pink 7) Sharpener, 8 & 9) Volumizing Mascara (one for you and one to give, hence the “share the love”) and 10) Tote Bag.

New products are the Shadow Liner, a beautiful brown/bronze, that you can apply as a liner or allover lid for a smoldering look, and the Lip Magnifiers, not as thick or glossy as lipgloss (this will appeal to some of you; I actually like a heavier gloss!). They are very pretty colors, easy to use and last longer than a gloss.

L to R: Skin Finisher (Medium), Highlighter + Blush (Pink Satin), Shadow (Chestnut), Liner (Deepest Brown), Lip Color (Punch), Lip Color (Blush)

Close-Up of Chanel Vitalumiere Aqua and Mally Kit

I picked up the “Share the Love” kit at a special event price. You can order now for $65.46, which is still a great deal for 10 pieces of full-size makeup.

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. […] I got home a few hours later. I think the Double Wear Light is o.k., but I miss the radiance of Chanel Vitalumiere or Lancome Teint Miracle. Milani Even-Tone Foundation (02 […]

  2. Thank you for such a wonderful review.

    I have just finished a bottle of Dior Nude today and – after seeing your beautiful pictures! – plan to buy the Vitalumiere Aqua. I like the feel of water-based foundations in the summer and look forward to comparing Chanel with Dior.

    One quick question… is the fragrance very strong?

    Sarah x

    http://stylesouk.wordpress.com

    • Thanks for your kind words! The ultra-light feel of Vitalumiere Aqua is perfect for the warmer weather. To me it has a stronger floral-ish scent, so I suggest trying a sample if you’re sensitive to fragrance. I haven’t tried Dior Nude, so please keep me posted on how you think it compares. BTW, your blog is so well written — one of the best I’ve seen!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

