Beauty Tips in Unexpected Places

March 11, 2011 at 10:22 am | Posted in Makeup | Leave a comment
Tags: , , , ,

A stack of beauty magazines and books fills my coffee table. At $5-$25 a pop, this would be a major monthly investment. That’s why I love the library! When you think of the library, beauty is probably not the first thing that comes to mind, but it has many of the same bestsellers and new releases as the bookstore, at no charge. Which leaves a lot more cash to spend on beauty products 🙂

Two books I have checked out now are “About Face” by Scott Barnes, creator of the Jennifer Lopez “JLo” glow, and “Sephora,” a first book of tips from the retailer. What I like about “Sephora” is it gives product suggestions along with tips. So many beauty books tell us the tips, but leave us to fend for ourselves on products to use.

Scott Barnes is all about sculpting: using contour and highlight powders and creams to bring out our best face shape. See my attempt below. Sculpting falls outside my comfort zone, but I followed Scott’s step-by-step instructions — the pictures are a huge plus — and liked the effect. My nose and cheeks are slightly more defined. It was a heavy application for everyday, but would be perfect when you want to be a dashing diva. Don’t worry, the “tiger stripes” blend seamlessly in the end. This is a book I would purchase for my permanent collection.

My Inspiration

How-To Instructions

Before

After

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

