Duel: Olay ProX vs. Clarisonic and Benefit Bella Bamba vs. Mally Beauty

January 31, 2011 at 12:12 am | Posted in Makeup, QVC, Skincare | Leave a comment
Tags: , , , , ,

Two new beauty products joined my life this week that make my very happy: Olay ProX Advanced Cleansing System and Benefit Bella Bamba blush. If only my dating life was as blissful! Both also closely reminded me of other products.

Olay ProX Advanced Cleansing System

Olay ProX Advanced Cleansing System

They say imitation is the best form of flattery and Olay ProX is clearly going up against the popular Clarisonic. Olay ads promise cleansing as “effective as the system sold by skin professionals for nearly $200,” and an “instrument that delivers supersonic cleaning.” Despite lots of research, though, I can’t tell if Olay actually uses sonic technology or just a creative ad writer. The Olay bristles rotate, while the Clarisonic vibrates. Maybe this is telling? What I do know is I used the Clarisonic for about a year and really couldn’t tell a difference. The first time I used the Olay ProX Advanced Cleansing System I couldn’t believe the difference! My skin felt soooo clean.

I also like the Olay ProX smaller size that easily fits into the hands and is lightweight. The brush is softer, which I thought might be too pliable to cleanse well, but it worked beautifully. It has 2-speeds and comes with a sample of the Olay ProX Exfoliating Renewal Cleanser — slightly gritty texture and completely removed my makeup.

The price is right for my beauty on a budget self: $29.99. Pick it up on sale this week at Rite Aid for $24.99 and you get a $5 gift certificate on a future store purchase, bringing the final price to $19.99.

Benefit Bella Bamba

 

Benefit Bella Bamba

I lived 42 years believing blush was just blush and now I’ve discovered two blushes in one year that are must-haves! A friend raved about the Benefit Bella Bamba blush ($28), so I was intrigued. It is billed as “3D Brightening Pink Face Powder.” She let me borrow her product and I was really impressed. It is the amped up version of Mally Beauty Illuminating Blush: more pink, more gold, more glitter…yet, not too much and just as pretty (it can be applied lighter or more dramatic). It lasted all day. And it smells like watermelon, an unexpected and uplifting surprise.

 

Mally Illuminating Blush (left) and Benefit Bella Bamba (right)

 

Wearing Benefit Bella Bamba

 

 

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

