Chanel Enigma Shadow and Black Pearl Polish: Real and Dupes

January 28, 2011 at 6:00 am | Posted in Makeup | Leave a comment
Tags: , , , , , ,

Wandering through Rite Aid last week (licking my wounds after a computer meltdown — literally), I spotted a display of seasonal NYC New York Color eyeshadows and immediately fixated on the Smokey Brown palette. Not only are the taupey/plum/brown colors gorgeous, but two shades are an exact dupe of Chanel Enigma. At less than $6, NYC is 1/10th the price. Love a bargain!

Chanel Enigma (top), NYC (bottom)

NYC Smokey Browns Palette

Wearing NYC Smokey Browns

Scoring luxe for less brightens my day, but sometimes I want it all! I had a gift certificate and wanted to buy something I wouldn’t normally. Chanel always has the most beautiful makeup colors that are “right now,” so I went playing. I fell in love with the Black Pearl nail polish from the Spring collection. You’ll see shimmering teal green, dark gray or silver depending on how the light hits…just like a real pearl. And the polish has stayed on my nails for a few days, thus far, with minor chipping, which I really love.

Chanel Black Pearl Nail Polish

At $25, Chanel nail polish is a splurge. Not ready to bust the wallet? Try Essie Dive Bar for $7.75 (a Walmart exclusive shade). I tested it side-by-side and it is as close as you’re going to find in a dupe. But, seriously, why did they name it Dive Bar? Now there are images stuck in my head 🙂

Essie Dive Bar

 

Essie photo courtesy of Walmart.com

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

