The Search Continues for Great Nails

January 23, 2011 at 4:43 pm | Posted in Makeup, QVC | Leave a comment
Tags: , , , , ,

Perfect Formula

One of my New Year’s beauty resolutions is to have nails that don’t peel. My first attempt is Perfect Formula Pink Gel Coat, sold at Sephora and QVC. It promises to strengthen and brighten nails, and at $29 I had super high hopes (plus it had positive reviews)! The pink tint did create a brightening effect and gave nails a healthier appearance. My peeling edges, however, did not improve and even seemed worse. It was returned.

I am always on the lookout for nail polish that delivers long wear. Rimmel London nail polish made my Top 10 Must-Haves, but the color selection is minimal. I thought it would be fun to try a trendy metallic shade and picked up L.A. Girl Rock Star for a few dollars at Fred Meyer. It looked fantastic for one day, just like the more expensive two-step salon versions, and then chipped like crazy. As a side note, if you try a metallic polish be prepared for a gritty texture from the glitter, it feels strange.

L.A. Girl in Live on Stage

 

I had a bit better luck with Sonia Kashuk nail polish, sold at Target. My nails were nearly chip free for three days, but clearly I needed polish remover by day four. For my problem nails, I consider this a win! Like Rimmel, Sonia Kashuk is limited in colors, but there is a small mix of basic and seasonal hues.

Sonia Kashuk in Taupe

Sonia Kashuk Day 4

 

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

