Beauty Hits & Misses of 2010

January 6, 2011 at 7:00 am | Posted in Beauty Must-Haves, Fragrance, Makeup, QVC, Skincare | 4 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

First off, I have to tell you that Beautypedia.com is FREE during January and February! I just visited this normally subscription-only site and no forms to fill-out. Access 45,000 beauty product reviews to find great products (I hope I get some sleep tonight)! I don’t agree with every conclusion but it’s a valuable one-of-a-kind resource.

The good (and bad for your wallet) thing about the beauty industry is the steady stream of new makeup colors, formulations, skincare miracles, etc. There are a few “aha’s” and many “oh my’s.” Far and few between are new product discoveries that are must-haves. In 2010, a handful of product launches and new to me discoveries impressed and disappointed more than others.

Light Up Like Pink Lipgloss (The Best Products)

5. Neutrogena Brightening Eye Perfector: This multi-tasker combines sunscreen and concealer where we need it most: undereye. It gives light coverage, you’ll need a heavier concealer underneath for dark circles, and the pen with brush makes it easy on the go.

4. Lancome Teint Miracle Foundation: I posted about this makeup base being too silicone heavy for me; still true but the formula gives skin an amazing glow and who doesn’t appreciate “your skin looks good” compliments. For going out this is a must product. Or if silicones don’t irritate your skin, try it for everyday.

3. Pink Sugar Sensual Fragrance: I’m secretly in love with the regular Pink Sugar but find the cotton candy scent too young. This is the grown up version that I’ve been wearing everyday since getting it for Christmas, yet is sexy enough for an evening date.

2. Mally Illuminating Blush: Never would I have guessed a blush would excite me as much as this one. The glow is applied underneath color for a beautiful luminosity. And it lasts for hours, an amazing feat for oily skin!

1. ULTA Self-Tanning Mitt: So simple yet so superb! As a self-tanning enthusiast, this is by far my most life changing product in 2010. And it’s only $4.99. Pinch me 🙂

Stay Away from that Red Lipstick (The Worst Products)

5. Physicians Formula Healthy Wear SPF 50: I’ve learned to avoid certain sunscreen ingredients, so a friend tried this tinted moisturizer and while the color and texture were good, ended up with large pimples (glad it was her not me 🙂 )

4. Dry Shampoo: I wash my hair just a couple of times per week to keep it from drying out, but it starts feeling itchy by day 3. I thought a dry shampoo was the answer and tried a few (so many lines have launched one lately), but they left my hair dull and powdery, and my scalp still itched. On a good note, the formulations with color nicely cover gray hair.

3. Olay Regenerist Anti-Aging Eye Roller: Put this in the “too good to be true file.” My eyes were just as puffy after I spent a full minute massaging (a really long time in a morning routine). I’m guessing other “eye roller” brands would deliver similar disappointing results.

2. Venus Breeze Razor. The first (and only) time I used this, I had to double-check that it included blades, as much of my leg hair was still intact! It’s an innovative idea to build-in shave gel with the razor, but removing hair is a must.

1. Bio-Oil: I should have known better than to believe the hype around this oil that promises to improve scars, stretch marks, uneven skin tone and aging skin. After 3 months of diligent use on stretch marks, I’m sad to report they are still there, as annoying as ever.

Please let me know your beauty faves and flops, I’d love to hear from you!

4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. […] Let’s start with the not so good: blush. I own the Mally Illuminating Blush and named it the Best of 2010. This version is a long lasting peachy-pink, however does not give the same ‘lit from […]

  2. […] She let me borrow her product and I was really impressed. It is the amped up version of Mally Beauty Illuminating Blush: more pink, more gold, more glitter…yet, not too much and just as pretty (it can be applied […]

  3. […] wearing two coats in the pictures. Compared to Lancome Teint Miracle, which I named one of the best products of 2010, it’s a draw. Vitalumiere Aqua feels better on, like a tinted moisturizer, which is my […]

  4. […] later. I think the Double Wear Light is o.k., but I miss the radiance of Chanel Vitalumiere or Lancome Teint Miracle. Milani Even-Tone Foundation (02 […]


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

