The First Beauty Gift I Ever Received Still Gives Me Joy

December 16, 2010 at 8:34 am | Posted in Makeup | Leave a comment
Tags: , , , , , ,

When I was in high school, all I wanted for Christmas was MAC makeup brushes. I still remember (25 years later!) the excitement when I opened the package that held a MAC retractable lip brush. The following year, I received a MAC powder brush and over the years have built a complete brush collection. We’ll not really complete because there’s always more to add.

Like hair styling tools, professional makeup brushes make perfect gifts because they really do work better than less expensive brands and are pricey, so why not have someone else indulge you 🙂 Good brushes give a more smooth and polished makeup application, plus they last forever, I still use that retractable lip brush.

Clearly, I love MAC brushes: the hairs are soft (many with natural hairs) and the handles are well-made wood with nickel and brass connectors. However, I also own Bobbi Brown brushes that I’ve used for years. Mally Beauty and Smashbox brushes are newer to my collection, so I can’t speak to longevity, but they apply makeup beautifully and you can find these in value sets.

I’ll post later on application techniques and maintenance, but for now I’m going to list my favorites should you need another gift idea to give or receive…

Note: some of the brush numbers have changed from mine, so I’m listing the closest available

5 Must-Have Brushes (shown l-r in photo to right)

  1. Powder (MAC #129 $34)
  2. Blush (MAC #116 $32)
  3. Eyeshadow (MAC #213 $22.50)
  4. Tapered/Blending (MAC #224 $29)
  5. Pencil/Smudger (MAC #219 $24.50)

Plus 5 More to Add-In (shown from bottom in photo below)

  1. Face Duo Fibre (MAC #187 $42)
  2. Eyeliner (Smashbox Arced Liner #21 $20)
  3. Lash & Brow Comb (Sephora #21 $10)
  4. Eyeshadow Shader/Blending (Bobbi Brown Shader $30)
  5. Eyelash Curler (Shu Uemura is in pic; Shu is no longer sold in the US, but I’ve heard Sephora’s $16 is a fine option)

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

