Put Your Best Body Forward Part I: Anti-Aging Moisture

August 5, 2010 at 9:03 pm | Posted in Body Care, Skincare | 3 Comments
Tags: , , , ,

A word of advice to the younger girls reading this blog: skincare must be head-to-toe, do not stop at your chin.

Just some of the body products I've tried...I'm not giving up:-)

I’ve always been faithful applying body lotion for moisture, but kept the treatment products to my face. Now, at age 42, I’m playing catch-up to treat signs of aging below the chin. And, as they say, an ounce of prevention…

The skin on our body is a telltale sign of age…brown spots, crepey skin, loss of elasticity, deep neck lines…you get the idea and it’s not pretty. Beauty expert and “cosmetics cop,” Paula Begoun compiled “The Best Body-Care” report and advises: What applies to the face also applies to the body.

Begoun and other experts recommend products that contain:

  • Antioxidants (like vitamin A and green tea)
  • Skin-identical ingredients (such as glycerin and collagen)
  • Cell-communicating ingredients (retinol, peptides and lecithin, to name a few).

Each of these ingredient types deliver different benefits, therefore a cocktail approach is best.

I started using my facial products on my neck and chest. However, it would be super expensive to use all over my body, so I am on a quest for great body products that don’t cost a fortune.

On my vanity right now are several lotions, oils and creams that I have been diligently testing over the past several months. Thus far, I have only noticed improvement with Juice Beauty Green Apple Body Cleanser ($22) and Body Moisturizer with SPF 20 ($29; there is also a non-SPF version). My legs and arms appear brighter and smoother. The lotion is thick and hard to get out of the bottle, though, and takes more effort than I’d like. You can check-out Juice Beauty at Sephora and online.

I just picked up Vaseline Intensive Rescue Clinical Therapy body lotion at Target for $5.84. It is highly recommended by Begoun and in Oprah magazine. My initial reaction is positive — it nicely moisturizes without being greasy and despite being “unfragranced” has a pleasant clean scent. I’ll keep you updated on my progress.

Keep in mind that all the antioxidants in the world won’t get you gorgeous skin if it isn’t protected from the sun. So, don’t forget sunscreen — rain or shine!

Stay tuned for body care posts on exfoliation and hair removal.

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. […] KP Duty twice a week and am amazed at how smooth my skin looks and feels. I follow the scrub with Vaseline Intensive Rescue Clinical Therapy, which I use twice a day and am really loving. I have a long way to go before rockin’ a bikini, but together my skin is noticeably more […]

  2. […] that you’re exfoliated, moisturized and hair-free, the final step in body care is giving your skin a beautiful tan glow. Tan skin hides […]

  3. […] Vaseline Intensive Rescue Clinical Therapy earned a permanent place in my body care routine. It leaves my skin softer and smoother than any […]


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

