Nordstrom Anniversary Beauty Top 3 Picks

July 8, 2010 at 10:12 pm | Posted in Fragrance, Makeup | 6 Comments
Tags: , , , , , ,

I last wrote about my detour to the Chanel counter while previewing the Nordstrom Anniversary Beauty Exclusives. Today, I am sharing my top 3 picks of the sale. Over 100 brands have value sets, exclusives or special colors – and I studied each one. Many lines also have gifts-with-purchase. So many decisions, so little time! Sale runs July 16 – August 1. 

Dior Ready-to-Wear Palette

1. Dior Ready-to-Wear Palette ($54) 

This collection caught my eye more than all the others. Your entire face is covered with four eyeshadows, two lip glosses, blush and bronzer. The colors are gorgeous, soft and pretty neutrals with a shimmer in the eyeshadows.

MAC Frisky Girl

2. MAC Look in a Box ($59.50) 

Three complete “makeup personalities” include blush, face color, eyeshadow, lip gloss and mascara. The color choices are in the pink, purple or tawny families. “Looks” can be dramatic or soft depending on application. No surprise, I gravitated to the pink “Frisky Girl” collection.

3. Philosophy Amazing Grace Duo ($52)  

Of all the Beauty Exclusives I was most anxious to try the newest addition to the Grace fragrance collection, Eternal Grace. Unfortunately, it was a disappointment. I hoped it would smell like my all-time favorite Pure Grace enhanced with citrus notes. Instead it smelled too heavily “green” for my taste. However, I was pleased to see the customer favorite Amazing Grace as a value set: 32 ounces each of shower gel and body emulsion. 

Philosophy Amazing Grace Duo

Philosophy Pure Grace Roll-On

I also found the Pure Grace roll-on perfume oil on sale for $18 (normally $25). It’s .27 ounces which is perfect for your makeup bag or airplane carry-on. 

  

Photos from Nordstrom.com.

6 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. did you end up with all of these? look like great choices! 🙂

    • Not yet, but I am leaning towards the Dior palette — the portability would be great on-the-go.

  2. Great selection.
    Have you gotten them all?
    Not tried Philosophy products before but soon, I think =)

    • Day one of the Nordy sale was fun, lots of people shopping! I got the Philosophy fragrance, did the Dior palette and found myself back at the Chanel counter shopping the Fall 2010 products (not part of the sale). The new Enigma eyeshadow quad with Taupe Gris in crease and Rose Dilemma lipstick topped with Petit Peche gloss (very similar to Iris from regular line) looked amazing! I’ll do a post soon.

      • Great to know you had so much fun =)
        Cant wait for your post!!
        Aw, Chanel Fall products are out?
        Not yet here in Singapore, end of the month I heard.

        You must have spent a bit during this sale?!
        Good deals?

        • Hopefully you don’t have to wait too much longer for the new Chanel colors, they are really pretty and popular! Some of the eye products are already sold out in the U.S. stores. Luckily my birthday coincides every year with the Nordstrom sale, so I have extra fun money to splurge. And I’m not a shoe gal, so that leaves more for makeup:-)


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

