Lesson in Hair Do’s and Don’ts

June 24, 2010 at 3:04 pm | Posted in Hair | 1 Comment
Tags: , , , ,

A few years ago, I visited a new hairdresser who informed me (nicely) that my hair care routine was damaging and the root of many bad hair days. She has beautiful long, thick shiny hair so I took notice!

My hair don’ts: I grew up putting lots of thick pomade on my part African-American hair and learned the “grease” combined with heat appliances burns the strands. I abuse my hair on a regular basis: color, relax, blow dry and flat-iron (it’s amazing I have any hair left!) and any product line won’t do. Also, my hair is dry yet fine, so heavy products weigh it down.

What I now do better: Marquetta (hairdresser) turned me on to professional, nourishing and silicone based products.  My hair looks and behaves significantly better: healthier, shiny, soft and easier-to-style.

Here is my current hair care routine. I especially love that each product is under $20.

1. Wash: ENJOY Sulfate-Free Hydrating Shampoo

2. Condition: ENJOY Hydrating Conditioner

3. Deep Condition: ENJOY Hair Mask (an intensive smoothing mask that I leave in all day/night on the weekends)

4. Styling Product: ENJOY Leave-In Conditioner (detangles, protects from sun and thermal services)

5. Styling Product: ENJOY Straightener (apply before blow drying to straighten hair without build-up)

6. Finishing Product: KeraCare Silken Seal (apply a tiny amount after hair is styled for a super shine)

7. Control Ends: Carol’s Daughter Mimosa Hair Honey just a touch on the ends if frizzy

ENJOY Professional Hair Care offers products for all hair types and styles. I purchase ENJOY and KeraCare at my salon or a beauty supply.  Carol’s Daughter is carried at Sephora and HSN TV/Online.  All can be found at Amazon.com.

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. […] up with the Cucumber Aloe all around the scalp: crown, back and nape. Without rinsing, I apply Enjoy Hydrating or Luxury Shampoo to the […]


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

