Top 10 Beauty Must-Haves: 5. Patricia Wexler Skincare

May 16, 2010 at 8:32 pm | Posted in Anti-Aging, Beauty Must-Haves, Skincare | 3 Comments
Tags: , , , ,

Edit on 8/22/11: Image Skincare has taken my top spot for skincare, though Wexler is still very good to try

Since I was 12 years old, I’ve had excessively oily skin and acne. At age 41, I also have fine lines and hyperpigmentation. However, many products targeted to anti-aging leave my skin greasy and broken out.

Acnescription Starter Kit

Dermatologist Dr. Patricia Wexler is a much quoted skincare expert in magazines and on television, so I was excited to try her line when it launched at Bath & Body Works a few years ago.

Wexler utilizes an exclusive MMPi-20 technology that addresses the root cause of aging skin: loss of collagen and elastin. Her line segments products by primary skin concern: aging, sensitive, acne-prone, brightening, and intensive repair, plus eye and lip care.

I love the Patricia Wexler M.D. Acnescription line. I swear by the Exfoliating Cleanser for a more youthful complexion and Acne Spot Treatment to keep me blemish-free.

The Oil-Free Hydrator SPF 30 is the only SPF product that doesn’t cause breakouts, though I wish it offered better broad spectrum sun protection, since UVA rays are just as damaging to our skin as UVB.

I recommend purchasing a starter kit, which is less of an upfront investment and ounce for ounce can save you money over the full size products.

Watch for Bath & Body Works sales online and in-stores. If you join their mailing list you can also receive terrific high-value coupons. The best part is you can return a product if you aren’t entirely pleased, so trying is risk-free.

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. […] women over 40:” Cindy Crawford, Iman, Mariska Hargitay and more. One takeaway: Iman sees dermatologist Dr. Wexler, whose products I love, and recommends sunscreen everyday because the sun doesn’t […]

  2. […] A close second at Honorable Mention is Patricia Wexler M.D. Intensive 3-in-1 Eye Cream (I use and love Wexler, available at Bath & Body Works, but haven’t tried this […]

  3. […] haven’t aged a bit” skin. For the past 5-6 years, I’ve been a devoted fan of Dr. Patricia Wexler products. I still like the line, but it’s being edged out of my 10 Beauty Must-Haves by Image […]


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

